THE ONLY WHITE KID IN THE ROOM

formations. // living at the intersections of self, social, spirit.

As a white parent committed to resisting racism, what do I want for my kids?

I want my kids to know how to be the only white person in the room.

I want them to know how to do this gracefully and without calling undue attention to themselves. I want them to know how to listen and observe and be a part of the action without feeling the need to dominate.  I want them to know that what happens when there’s no other white person to witness is just as real as anything else they might experience.  I want them to extrapolate that experience into the knowledge that all sorts of very real things take place that they will never witness.  I want them to know that race and culture are real, and part of all of our lives.

“ I was the only white person in the room …

View original post 719 more words

~ by Shauna Osborn on August 28, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
